To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Tasks Dissappearing after shutdown

All of a sudden, whenever I shut down Bit Comet......when I start it up again ALL of my download tasks have been removed. I have replaced them several times, but everytime I have to shut the program down the tasks dissapear when I restart. EVERY SINGLE FILE IS REMOVED. Which means I am no longer seeding anything either.

Anyone else have this prob???? I have been using this program for 8 months or so, & this has NEVER happened before! Any help would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to have to change Torrent programs.....BUT I am NOT going to add all my tasks & files more than ONE MORE TIME!!

Thx in advance.....................Keither

Hi,

Please make sure to post in the proper forum.

Also, since you didn't read this (obvious by its absence), I can only say that your tasks are stored in the file "downloads.xml", which is stored in the program directory. If BitComet can't write to that file for any reason, then the tasks don't get saved. The most-often seen reason for not being able to write to this file is usually a permission problem, with either the file or the progam directory. Another possible reason is that the file has been set to "Read-only" mode.

Which means I am no longer seeding anything either.

I'm not sure if you are referring to the tasks, themselves, or the contents of the torrents - they're stored in the downloads directory that you specify in your Preferences.

*topic moved*

I fooled around with thn easier way to replace the files without having to re-locate the files online again. I'm hoping this fixed the situation.

As for the seeding....When my files disapeared...I meant they were no longer in my dowloads folder or connected to the prog in ANY WAY. At any rate...I think I fixed er'

• 2 weeks later...

hi everyone, i've almost got the same problem here.