To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Files hanging at 99%

suh8lim3

I, like many others, had issues around the Chinese New Years, where I would keep getting server error when trying to login to my account on bitcomet. Before then, VIP worked perfectly. I hadn't tried it again until last night when I noticed that now, no matter what file I download, the file starts off speedily and then gets to about 98-99% and just stops. These are all links with 1-2k seeds. I've tried turning off VIP and anonymous and downloading the file, it does it immediately with no issues at all. Tried the same files on another client, worked flawlessly. This leads me to believe it's something with the anonymous downloading or vip in general.

This is my first time posting, so if there's any information you need from me, feel free to ask.

When using anonymous feature bitcomet will often get the files from non torrent sources and sometimes this causes an issue like this if there is an extra small file in the torrent like a text file which cannot be obtained. In order for the larger files to read as complete in the torrent that small file has to be present and complete, however in this case the larger files actually are complete. This is an unavoidable issue that is caused when sourcing files from multiple protocols. BitComet did develop a solution to this by using "padding files", but users of other clients violently objected to them out of ignorance so most torrents don't use them. Without the padding files these small files within the torrent will have an effect of making larger ones appear incomplete.

I suggest you try using the files and see if they are indeed complete. If they have the .bc! extension you may have to manually remove it.

• Like 1