To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Error "system cannot find specified file"

jr00d0

I have been using BitComet for several years with several differenct computer setups with no porblems at all. My last use of BC was three months ago before bicycle accident. Anyway, I log on yesterday to download; after trying to start download, I get a red x and error message that "system cannot find specified file" I have tried several different torrent sites, many different torrents with the same result.

I am connected and have all green lights on ports.

I am using Win7 64 bit, Comcast cable, Linksys wrt120N router, Vonage fone adapter. I have changed NOTHING on the computer since last download. I have gone through the FAQ's and can't seem to find any info on this problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanx.

The most obvious thing to check is your default download directory, in your settings. If it doesn't exist, BitComet will try to create it but subject to your operating system -- which you didn't specify in spite of a request in the READ BEFORE POSTING sticky topic, that you do so. It must not refer to a nonexistent drive or contain illegal characters.

Try changing the location of your download folder, if you have multiple users then you must make sure to use a folder that all users can access. The default that bitcomet will use is c:\downloads, which isn't usually restricted but each user account will be assigned a separate folder for downloads, if you changed bitcomet to use this folder in one account, then it won't work when a different user attempts to use it.