To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

libutp - The uTorrent Transport Protocol library.

"libutp, an open source implementation of µTP, has now been released"

I'm no expert and I'm not really comfy with bandwidth management friendly protocols either.But if this thing happens to be the key to keep those pesky uTorrent peers at bay properly and helps with performance then I don't see the harm in trying?Plus maybe it's not that hard to just yank out the part off the branch if it's not working?Proceed only on beta until it's ready for main if possible?

Edited by Suo.Eno (see edit history)

It's not likely.

µtorrent could have and should have put this on SourceForge if they *really* intended to share it with anybody. Instead, they put it on very new and very tiny repository, GitHub.

GitHub charges for access if your product is not open-source, which means that almost every client except Vuze would have to pay for the privilege of seeing their so-called "open source" code. That was a really .... crap-headed ... thing for µtorrent to do, just a transparent maneuver to make their competition look like the guilty ones for not adopting something "open source", that nobody has a budget to pay for.

I don't know how µtorrent justifies this to itself, but it looks like Firon is getting kickbacks from GitHub, or maybe µtorrent secretly owns them.

Actually, you could do the most to advance this -- if you really want to advance it -- by screaming at µtorrent for this on their forum, and demanding that they put this on sourceforge, or that µtorrent pay for a GitHub subscription for any closed-source torrent client developer (almost all of them) who wants to access this. If they don't you'll know it was just theater to deceive you.

Open-source my aspirin.

It's not likely.