To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Bug report 0.71 and 0.73

icStatic

Hi,

I have been using BitComet now for about 2 years and its definitely the best torrent client around. However, the last few versions have in my opinion been getting worse and worse!

It started with 0.71 when I bumped into quite a few bugs which I knew were not present in earlier versions. I then upgraded to 0.73 and that didn't solve the problem. I've now reverted to 0.67, which I remember to be stable and I have a copy of lying around.

• Tray menu items 'Pause all' and 'Resume all' have dissapeared - I used these a lot
  • Torrent-wide priority settings have now also gone - again, these were useful
  • The info pane contains no 'info' only some chinese characters and (what I think is) a search box with a button that does nothing
  • The 'Preview' button ALWAYS says buffering until the file is complete.
  • The 'Play'/'Preview' button crashes the client when the file is complete
  • Links launch IE, my default browser is Firefox
  • The client crashed when the program was minimized
  • When the client crashes the bug report form did not work, it said 'Connect failed'

and the worst one...

• When the client crashes it loses all progress since the stop button was pressed or the client was closed. (Even though I have it allocate the disk space in advance, and also that it has finished some files in a torrent)

This has happened 3 times to me now, and I often have the client open for days at a time.

After downgrading to 0.67 and restarting the torrents it managed to continue with where the files were when 0.73 crashed. 0.73 itseld would not have done this.

0.67 was great, I have no idea how so many bugs managed to get in to 0.7X. I appreciate these versions are not 'Stable', but even still... You haven't been taken over by Microsoft have you? (joke)