To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Advice for new user please

Timazipan

Hi I'm new to downloading and I want to make sure I'm doing it right. I have lots of films that I am draging into torrent share and they're status is (downloaded click to view task). I want to be sure that doing this is making them available for everyone to share. My computer is on pretty much 24/7 so I'm leaving BitComet logged on, I'm assuming this allows my torrents to be available all the time which is good, right. Also when I'm in torrent share and I click on a torrent a red flag comes up over the downloaded symbol. Please can you tell me what it means.

And finally if anyones got any advice on speeding up download speeds I would very much appreciate it. Is it right that the longer I am logged in and the more I upload my download speed will increase along with my rating. Here's some info from my account. Can you tell me if this is average.

DHT Connected 1552

Listen port is blocked. (I think this might be because I use a wireless router as my firewall says it is accepting BitComet).

Average download speed for one download at a time is 230kB/s.

Thankyou so much (in advance) for any help you offer, there seems to be a certain etiquette to downloading and I want to get it right and not be a leech!!

Edited by Timazipan (see edit history)

I get the impression that you're a bit confused. Either that or I didn't get you right.

BitTorrent is not like DC++ or eMule or other sharing networks/protocol's clients. It doesn't use the same concepts and methods.

You don't just "drop" files or folders into a "sharing" directory from where all others can download them whenever they want.