To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

The Peer window

bobl

Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to the bitcomet client and I just have a question about the Peers Window in the client.

This screenshot was taken of my Peers window when I was seeding a file and not downloading anything so perhaps some details are not there.

I've had a look around in the documentation and FAQs but can't find an explanation for all the figures displayed.

Some are pretty obvious but I don't want to make assumptions that may be incorrect.

Does anyone know of a link where the peer window is explained for relative newbies?

Thanks

I may as well include my assumptions on what the figures mean on the Peer window.

IP - The IP address of the peer with the port number appended on the end separated by a colon from the IP address ?

% - The percentage of the file that the peer has downloaded ?

KB/s Dn - The speed that I am downloading from this peer ?

KB/s Up - The speed that the peer is uploading from me ?

Downloaded - The amount I've downloaded from this peer ?

Uploaded - The amount I've uploaded to this peer ?

Initiation - Don't know what this means but just seems to have two values of "Local" and "Remote" ?

KB/s Peer Dn - The speed at which the peer is capable of downloading ?

Client Type - The bittorrent client the peer is using ?

Error - Error messages ?

Status - No idea what this means? Seems to have values like "_ci_", "_c_C" and "__i_" ?

Some of these assumptions are sure to be correct but which ones am I mistaken on?

Initiation - Don't know what this means but just seems to have two values of "Local" and "Remote" ?

Simply told:

"Local" means that you are the one who wants to connect to the "outside". "Remote" means the outside want to connect to you.