To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

have i set this up right? (and other questions)

Hi all I just want to run through my setup for BitComet (v0.76) to make sure I haven't missed anything important (I'm a total torrent noob)

first of all I downloaded Bitcomet

checked my connection speed 2000kbps downstream and 240 upstream so i set my max download rate to 246 kB/s and max upload to 24 B/s (I figure this is correct)

I set the port im using for BitComet to open via my router

set my IPs to static

alowed access through my firewall

Disabled UPnP

max downloads to 3 and I think thats it

My download speeds still haven't increased much since I made the changes. I can get upto about 40kB/s sometimes a little higher.

I feel like I should be able to get more, any suggestions?

EDIT #2 Ok I've tried losing a couple of torrents so I'm downloading 3 now and have pretty much the same speeds, I'm about to try the office thingy test to see if i can max my speed, I'll post the reslts here.

EDIT: I'd like to point out that my upload speed stops about at 26kB/s (higher than i set my max) and stays there. and I'm using a wireless contection, should I use my wire?

I'm currently downloading 5 torrents and my speed ranges from 5 kB/s to 40 kB/s

I think I should cut down on the amount of torents im downloading other than that I can't think that I'm doing much wrong, any help is much apreciated

Thanks for taking the time to go through this info. :)

EDIT: I tried open office as a single download and it hit my max of 250 kB/s so I guess my settings are as good as they can be. I still dont understand how some things can have health of 2500% and still only hover around 1kB/s guess I never will... oh well

one other thing, how come if i'm downloading torrents and i only hit 20kB/s why does my conection act slower than a 56k modem if i surf at the same time?