To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Peer Connection Problem with 0.79 & reinstalling older version

PJC

I have been using BitComet for a couple of years now with pretty good success.

However, when moving to 0.79, I have noticed that I am not getting nearly the number of connections to peers that I was used to in the past. Just recently I connected to a swarm that was about 40/220. I finished the download and was keeping the task active to seed for a while. After a couple of days (700M file), my U/D ratio was still only at about .6. I looked at the peers and there were still around 200+ downloading. I was attached to 6 of them with a total upload speed of about 9 Mbs. In the past, I would have been attached to at least 40-50 of them and uploading like crazy -- with a lot of downloading peers I have been able to almost saturate my upload speed.

Did something change in 0.79 that would affect this?

I tried going back to 0.77 (which worked before) but the situation was the same. However, I just did an "over the top" install from 0.79. Do I need to do a full uninstall first before reinstalling 0.77? Are there any other files or registry settings that I need to kill as well?

Support Info:

1. Version of BitComet: 0.79 & downgrade to 0.77

2. Version of Windows: XP running SP1 (for some reason I have had problems with SP2 everytime I try to upgrade to it)

3. Internet Connection and Router: Cable, 10M/1M (actual tests are near that when everything isn't congested). Router is a Linksys WRT54GS. Also, I am getting both Local and Remote connections so I think the port forwarding on the router is correct.

Thank!

Pat

I suggest you go back to v0.70 which is the best version right now

Just uninstall the version you currently have, then install v0.70

There shouldnt be any problem downgrading and your torrents/downloads and settings should still be there