To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Really, REALLY slow downloading

1. Bit Comet 0.79 Stable Release for Windows 2000/XP

2. Windows XP Pro Version 2002 SP2

3. Comcast , Motorola SB5101 cable modem hardwired to a Belkin Wireless G Router -- 2.4Ghz - 802.11g

Okay, I'm a newb to torrents so here's the problem. No matter what torrent from what site I add to BitComent, it comes in either super slow (1-2 kB/s) or not at all. I used http://speed.rutgers.edu/ to test my speed, and I have approx. a 9 Mbps download and a 370 kbps upload speed.

Prior to this I used Bearshare 5.2.5 but after they forced the upgrade to Version 6, I dropped it in favor of Shareaza, but that program is pretty lame. I'd like to figure out what the problem is with my downloading with BitComet. Is it a software problem or does it have something to do with my hardware?

Thanks in advance.

The usual reason for slow speeds is that you haven't configured your client properly. Fortunately, there's a settings guide (up there ^) that will tell you all about how to do this. You really should go over all of it, but pay particular attention to your listen port, how to forward it through your router's firewall, and setting your global maximum upload speed. If you do those correctly you should see dramatic increases in your speed.

The usual reason for slow speeds is that you haven't configured your client properly. Fortunately, there's a settings guide (up there ^) that will tell you all about how to do this. You really should go over all of it, but pay particular attention to your listen port, how to forward it through your router's firewall, and setting your global maximum upload speed. If you do those correctly you should see dramatic increases in your speed.