To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Everything "right" : Still Slow.

Hullo Everyone,

I am not a newbie but still incompetent! (Experience allows you to make the same mistakes but with increased confidence!), so please have pity and help.

I am using BitComet V 1.8 on Windows XP with SP3 behind Norton Internet Security. My Download speed measued at 9886 kbps and upload varies around 512 kbps.

DHT and WAN are green. There are lots of @Remote@ connections in Peers so I believe my ports are open and forwarded. Listening ports are listening. UPnP is enabled. Global upload and download are set at Unlimited and 250 kb/s respectively.

I am downloading a large, (60 GB), single file so there is no competition for bandwidth. (No other programs accessing the Internet.)

It reports that there are [5/1409] potential seeds and peers but I am only connected to 2/29 respectively. So, my file, which has been downloading for 4 days already, has another 8 days to go. Download Rate of 54kb/s and uploading at 60kb/s with a share ratio of 0.61.

Is there anything I can do to "attract" some additional seeds and peers? It seems a bit paltyr to connect to only 29 out of a pool of 1409 peers.

Any advice would be very warmly appreciated.

Peter

1. You gave some strange figures. I'm assuming that you speak about v.1.18 instead of v.1.8.
  2. Then, is it your tested download speed really 9886kb/s or 986 kb/s? Furthermore, are these figures obtained from the test site, in kilobits (kb) or in kilobytes (kB)?