To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Intellectual rights

mikede1025

Hello. I'm very new to this and I'm terribly confused. While using BitComet I downloaded a movie from The Pirate Bay site. Not very long afterwards I got a letter from my ISP (Mediacom) about copywrite infringement and told me I made an illegal download. Well, a few months after that it happened again. With this new letter they told me that if it happens yet again that I will be banned from Mediacom indefinitely. If that happened I'd have no internet at all. Did I make some sort of mistake downloading? What I don't understand is with all the people who download all sorts of things for all sorts of torrent sites, how or why in the world did I get nailed with this? Now I'm scared to download anything at all for fear of losing my cable service. Can anyone enlighten me about what I did wrong or what I should have done instead or something at all??

Thanks,

Mike

hola mikede1025:

No creo que debas preocuparte, pues esas notificaciones son por via automatica al acceder a una Web como The Pirate Bay, ya que actualmente está en el punto de mira por parte de las grandes compañias, que han conseguido desmantelar dicha Web.

El hundimiento de The Pirate Bay ahora recibió su golpe de gracia, toda vez que su dueño el famoso y admirado Peter Sunde ha decidido hacerse a un lado, alegando que el ciclo vital de su web ha llegado a su fin, (aunque la pagina este por el momento activa).The Pirate Bay es una página ícono de la lucha a favor de las descargas libres en Internet, como en su momento fue Napster o Audiogalaxy, y que han logrado resistir ataques a través de los años y convertirse en el sitio principal de intercambio de archivos.