To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

How to tell if I am seeding and listen tcp port blocked

Hello All:

I am new to bitcomet and have a few of questions.

How can I tell if I am seeding downloaded bit torrent files. When I look in the task list I see that no bytes are being uploaded and I was wondering whether or not I am seeding the files that I have downloaded. I leave bitcomet running all the time. Please advise me how to tell if I am seeding files or not.

Another issue I have is that when I look at the summary of files that I have downloaded, I see that the listen port for tcp is blocked by a firewall/router and the udp port is opened in the firewall/router and they are both using the same listening port. Is the proper or should both ports be opened?

Lastly, when I select one of the torrent sites on the list, sometimes it will go to the site and sometimes the site will not open and I get a error message saying that atacomet cannot be opened. How can I fix this problem?

Thank for any and all responses to these questions.

It's best if your port is open to both protocols, TCP and UDP, but it's most important that it be open to TCP.

IF your listen port is not open (on TCP), then nobody can initiate a connection with you. You can call out, but nobody can call in. Some sites call this being "connectable". This will also greatly interfere with your seeding and with maintaining a proper ratio, as you are experiencing. When you are actually seeding, you will have peers downloading from you and can see this in your client, under the PEERS tab.