Jump to content
Comet Forums

I have now accidentally two versions of BitComet installed


Recommended Posts

I have updated BitComet several times before without any problem. So I had version 1.71 and it told me that there was new version available. OK, I downloaded it. Closed running version and installed new one. When I finished the installation and ran the new wersion I noticed that all my tasks were gone and preferences seemed to be reset. So I closed it and restarted  and magically all my tasks and preferences were back. I didn't realise it right away that somehow I ended up with two versions (1.71 and 1.72) of BitComet on my system (64bit Win 10). I have continued using the previous verion since all my tasks are there.

So the question is, how am I going to transfer all my tasks and preferences to the new version?

Another thing is that the system registry only shows that the new version is installed. Can I just delete old version folder and files without uninstalling?

Thanks in advance for advice and suggestions!

Link to post
Share on other sites

You should be able, so long as one is set as default. Settings are stored in App Data (a hidden folder)

You might like to try using Revo Uninstaller in moderate mode to clean it up

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...