To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Progress / Percentage

anyone

I don't understand.

I'm downloading a single 3GB file [recently out].

Summary:

Progress: 11.6 % (i.e. 348 MB so far)

remaining:2.61 GB

downloaded:1.31 GB (0 B rubbish data dropped_ (0 dropped - every bit received was good - is

this even possible? )

total downloaded:4.53 GB

Average download rate: 18kb/s (seems much more, sth like 100 kb/s, sometimes as high as 165)

Although the download is fast, progress is rarely updated. same goes for "remaining".

download is going on for 3 days now. i would expect something like 40% in progress, 3GB-1.31GB in remaining.

something is not right.

maybe i have to hash check the file to get the right percentage ???

I'm using bitcomet 0.72.

I have a dsl 1.5 MB connection (with a poor 96 kb/s upload)

this is my first time using bitcomet, usually emule is my file sharing app.

connected seeds:3 (max:3

connected peers:64 (max:8514

the prefrences are the default (only changed global max down/up rate to match my connection).

btw, since my last post "downloaded" reached 2.3GB , while percentage remains 11.6%

maybe i should try close and reopen the app (hasn't done that yet cause i was afraid to lose the steady d/n rate) ?

We are sorry for the problems with unstable versions released.

Regarding most of your data being discarded as rubbish, this is most often due to bad connections.

I suggest you contact your ISP and tell them you are having an excess (98%) failure on packets you download.

They can do a simple test by connecting to your modem and determine if the problem is on your end (which means they may need to repair lines to your home/office).