To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

A Question about polite torrent downloading

kryn taal

:unsure: I was just wondering what is considered the "proper" behavior when it comes to tradng torrents. I have my "max upload" set to unlimited, and my avg. Dn\Up rate is 115\55 Kbps.

My avg. download time (for movies) is about 15 hr. and I then allow each file to "seed" approx. 1-2 days. Unfortunately, HD space severely limits the amount of time I can leave anything in memory much longer than that. :wacko:

I'm new to all of this, so please excuse me if this is a stupid question. :oops: I welcome any feedback you may have...

Well what is expected, i.e. the proper behaviour, is that you seed the exact same amount you download so you're ratio (dwnld : upld) stays 1:1. So for example if you download 1GB it is expected that you seed at LEAST 1GB, but it's really nice of you if you leave it to seed some more plus this way the you're benefiting the whole bittorrent community by keeping speeds high....always keep an eye on you're ratio & try to keep it minimum at 1. Happy downloading! ;)

Yes, very good advice.

If I really like something, I will let it run to at least 2.0 (since someone has to make up for all those who take and run)

I also believe in common sense, so if I have two torrents finished, one has 100seeds and 10 peers, but my ratio is only 0.5

second torrent has 10 seeds, 100 peers, but ratio is 1.5

I would seed the second, because the first did not currently need my bandwidth nearly as much, even though I already did more then my share.

I will of course keep the first torrent in my client in case its status changes.

Suspect