To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Confusion on Download / Upload Speeds

ginetti

Hi all fellow BitCometeers,

My nick is ginetti, and i've been using BitComet for approximatley 4 months now.

My question is this, i'm on a 512k/256k plan with Telstra here in Australia.

And if i download something, its always really REALLy slow.

Now i realize some items download depending on their popularity, however when i'm downloading items that state they have 300+ seeders, my 8kb per second should be higher shouldnt it? (i'll admit at times it jumps to 24kbs, but is usualy hovering at 8 or way below)

Also; when i highlight the file in question, in the information section it states

AVERAGE DOWNLOAD RATE: 88 KB/s within 00:15:29

Hah!

I should be so lucky.

The amout of files i download on average is around 1 to 4 at a time.

Is there anything i can do (besides changing my ISP), change settings, pray to a certain god, for faster download speeds with bitComet, or is this pretty standard.

Thanks for any help in advance,

Regards,

Ginetti.

PS: in settings, i have unlimited download speeds and 3kb upload speed (i figure the higher this is the slower my downlaods will be, however if this is wrong, i'll pump it up to whatever you all suggest)

Additional: I have an ADSL Modem, a dual core computer, 2 gig of ram, and 2 nvidia cards in sli mode, they are 7800's.

I hope this helps.

Hi,

First of all, your ISP is providing, by todays standards a very slow service.

I also want to be sure you understand the difference between kb/s and kB/s.

Your isp uses kb/s (1000 bits per second) and bit comet measures kB/s (1000 Bytes per second)

8bits = 1Byte

Therefore your isp is giving you a max download/upload of 64kB/s and 32kB/s

Even with a much faster service, I would recommend a user only run one torrent at a time.