To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Downloading with Zero Seeds ?????

I am new to this so I will give all that I know.

I set up computer, application, and router as stated in the set-up guides.

This took my DL from 3kB/s average to 15kB/s average.

I am now trying to get more. I changed my disk cache from 50mb to 100mb (I have 1Gb ram) and the DL has gone from about 15kB/s to around 20kB/s.

I am making an assumption that if I can increase the number of seeds, I can increase my DL rate. How do I do this. If this correlation is not correct, then what do you recommend to increase DL rate?

I am on a wireless router, my throughput rate is auto negotiating and runs from 54mb/s down to 11mb/s

I have a 99% success rate over 500mb of data.

Seeds are the people you are downloading from, not something you can increase.

Your download speed depends on a combination of what your maximum bandwidth is and also on what the maximum upload speed the seeds have. Probably 70+% of your download speed depends on other people. You most certainly can increase your DL speed with a faster connection (some days when I get a popular file I can get DL speeds upwards of 500KBs) but if the seeds don't have an equally speedy connection it won't do you any good.

Good comment J2383

There is still quite a bit you can do to help your download rates, but it will still depend on the peers your connecting to.

Most slow torrents are a result of people running multiple torrents, therefore not providing a good upload amount to anyone they connect to.

One torrent at a time is the way to go.

I suggest you read our setting guides, our staff has worked hard to prepare them.

Suspect

Try making sure that your Global Max Upload Rate is set to about 80% of your available D/L bandwidth to avoid saturating your connection.