To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Burned ISO image, still no go

mozzer

I've tried Easy DVD burner and Alcohol 120% to burn an image, still all I get is an *.ISO file which the PC will not read. Does this mean there is a problem with the download, what should I see on the disk after burning ? .

Sorry this is my first attempt with Torrents but I have read all the FAQs, I think.

(Moved to general discussion, nothing to do with BitComet. - mod)

Those programs have done what you asked them to do -- produced a disk image. There are several types of image file, but .iso is probably the most universally accepted and understood.

If you don't want an image like an .iso, you must want something else. What, specifically? I believe you're making several invalid assumptions, but can only guess at what you're really trying to accomplish.

In any case, once the torrent contents are complete and verified, BitComet has done its part. All that remains is to seed the torrent. Transcoding files or burning them to optical disk is not BitComet's function.

Have you tried to mount it as a virtual drive?

.iso files are not made to be burned as a file, but as an image. In alcohol you have the option "Image Burning Wizard" in the left panel.

Also ISO can be considered an archive by WinRar and you can extract it as any usual archive (.rar .zip etc.).

I was not suggesting BitComet had not performed it's function, just looking for general advice on how the software downloaded as an ISO would usually be installed on a PC, guess I'll find somewhere else to ask such a dumb question. :rolleyes:

Those programs have done what you asked them to do -- produced a disk image. There are several types of image file, but .iso is probably the most universally accepted and understood.