To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

A little question about trackers

woxenrud

Im still new to torrents and stuff and have been messing around with bitcomet to see how everything works.

I noticed that these "trackers" are different on different torrents. for example

torrent 1 have:

http://tracker.thepiratebay.org/announce

udp://tracker.thepiratebay.org:80/announce

udp://tracker.openbittorrent.com:80/announce

http://tracker.openbittorrent.com/announce

while torrent 2 have those four plus:

http://tracker.publicbt.com/announce

udp://tracker.publicbt.com:80/announce

I then tried to add those two to the first torrent and i saw that the connections increased.

Does this mean that the more trackers a torrent have, the faster it downloads? Am i supposed to have a big list with trackers and add them to the downloads i start?

If someone gave me some info here i would be very happy :)

No, it does not mean that at all, but some misguided souls think so.

Several of those trackers don't even exist. This is a common dumbness, so you can be an evangelist. See those lines that start with "udp"? Most tracker sites DO NOT HAVE UDP-based trackers or options. Among the major sites, only Demonoid even has one. The µtorrent client does not support UDP at all.

Some ... people ... seem to think that, well, maybe someday they might be added (why???) so I might as well add in a url for it. This is just a waste of time.

In this particular case The Pirate Bay took its tracker down and no longer has one. It relies solely on DHT, PEX and magnet links.