To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

windows xp freezes when downloading.

hi my name is nishan and i have been using bitcomet for i think 3 years.

im having a problem with my computer tho. when i have bitcomet downloading something over night or any time period it will freeze. im not sure why this is but i really need it to stop. i am running windows xp version 2002 with service pack 3. i have 2 gb ddr 400 mhz ram, 3.2 ghz p4 with H/T, 500 gb hd and a hd 3650 agp video card.

i have portforwarded the listen port, i have my max downloads at 5, i have changed my max dowload speed and still no change, i have changed my listen port and portforwarded that new listen port. and still the problem presists.

my computer may freeze after 10 mins or a hour or 2. but it always freezez. i have tried versions of bitcomet

1.22 (i think the newest one)

i have my firewall up. and i am running windows one care as my virus protection program.

all had the same problem.

all help is appreciated and i will try it out.

question tho. i am running a version of xp that has not been activated. i will be activating it soon. does that make it freeze?

Have you looked at your system and application logs to see if they're reporting errors when a freeze occurs?

What reason do you have for thinking that BitComet is a cause, rather than just another victim of the freezing?