To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Uploading = No Web Browsing

When I double click a torrent to set it to upload it KILLS my web browsing abilities and I can not browse the web at all. When I double click it and it just has the green circle displayed I can browse the web just fine. Does this mean I am not able to let others download from me?

We could probably give you a specific answer if you provided the information we request for making a support request, but without knowing anything at all about your system or your internet connection, then the best we can do is take a wild guess and say your settings need to be properly adjusted to run within your available bandwidth.

My bad. I am new to all of this torrent stuff and the forums. My answers are in bold...obviously.

1) What version of BitComet are you using? 1.27 Stable Release

2) What type of Internet connection do you have (ADSL, etc.)? I have cable internet.

3) Do you have a modem? Do you use a router? What make and model are each one of them? Have you forwarded your port? I have a Motorola SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway SBG900, I dont exactly know what port forwarding is...sorry :(

4) If you have more than one router, be sure to mention the make and model of both devices, how are they connected (i.e. in which connector of both devices is the network cable plugged) and which one of the devices is connected to or is the modem.

Also, if you have more than one computer make sure to mention in this case, to which router is every one of them connected. None of these apply, I just connect wirelessly on my Gateway laptop with Windows 7.

5) What version of Windows, Firewall and Antivirus do you use? I have Norton Anti-Virus (Internet Security)....I'm assuming it takes the place of windows firewall when installed. I have set it to allow BitComet