To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

about seeding

Hello everyone again!! You guys helped me out alot when I posted last about emule, I greatly appreciated it. I have another quick question for you. I am using version 1.27 on a XP SP3 machine with Google Chrome browser. I am new to the torrent scene and so far I love it and Bit Comet. I reap all the benefits of downloading through Bit Comet and I just want to make sure I'm one of the guys giving back to the community, I'm sure there's alot of user's who take, take, take without giving back. I don't want to be one of those people.

I was reading somewhere, I think it was one of Guardian Eagle's posts, that he seeds at least to a share ratio of 1.0. Okay, take for example, I recently downloaded the complete discography of the XYZ, I love them, it only took about 5 minutes to complete and now my share ratio is at .87 and is continuing. My question is, to seed, all you do is let the torrent keep going after the download and hash check, right? I know your probably thinking, "that's a dumb question". I just wanted to make sure that I'm seeding correctly, and is there a way to speed up seeding and can I tell if anyone is connected to me using the seeds I'm putting out?

Bear with me as I am new to this. Like I said I just want to give back, as best and efficiently as possible. Oh yeah, I followed the tutorial on optimizing BC for speed, so my download to upload ratio is set correctly to my internet connection speed. Any info back would be appreciated, thank you all.

rpwicked

Edited by greywizard (see edit history)

Hi,

There is never a dumb question if the reasons are sincere, so we don't mind your question at all, and I'll try to fully address it.