To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Downloaded file shown as incomplete

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum so help and advice would be greatly appreciated, I have been using bit comet for the past two years and never experienced this kind of a problem, yesterday I was downloading a video torrent, I tried previewing it in bit comet, I used the preview option for the first time in my life, all it said was buffering, I kept it on for 10 mins but still it said buffering, I finally gave up and cancelled the preview. Then, later that night, after that particular file completed downloading, i went to my 'Downloads' folder to wathc the video, and to my surpirse, that file still showed as an incomplete .bc file even though in bit comet the file had already downloaded and had started uploading, 15-20 mins passed, and still the file showed as incomplete, I finally restarted my computer, and after 5 mins since my computer had been restarted, the file finally showed as a proper downloaded file and I was finally able to watch it.

This has happened with me for the first time and am quiet amazed with this, I am assuming that it happened because i used the preview option for the first time ever, and i have this problem. Can someone please tell me what the real reason behind this is??

Thanks in advance

It seems likely that BC was running through a final hash check (which is optional), when you thought it was complete. A hash check can take quite a while. BC indicates this by saying "checking", irrespective of what the icon shows. The file extension doesn't get changed back until the hash check actually completes.