To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

a way to view the movies without burning?

fjiantra

Hi guys,

I'm new to the torrent downloading, but I've slowly got a hang of it! It's great! But I found that most of the movies are bin./cue. files. I know how to mount the images in alcohol and so on, but most of the files needed to be burned on disk. Now I was wondering if there's a way to view the movies without burning?

Thanks already,

Fjiantra

Hi,

Accually the answer to your question is in your post.

Mount the .cue file in alcohol, then open the disc in any media player such as Media Player Classic.

If your media player can't play vcd discs, then browse the disc to the "mpeg" folder, and play the mpeg file.

However, if your movies are Kvcd encoded, they will never look good playing on a computer (kvcd is designed to display on your TV screen, not computer monitor)

OR

download "VLC player" from videolan.org

Suspect

Well, I've tried the player you advised (VCL) and it worked. So, I think the files are vcd and kvcd encoded. But the quality is really bad. Now, last time I've burned such a image file it looked also really bad on my tvscreen. How can I see if it's good quality before burning it? Does the torrent need to be as big as possible? Or does it depend on wich file it is? And wich torrent site has got good movie files? Thanks!!

If you could send me a link to where you got the movie I could tell you more about it.

as or kvcd movies, they vary in quality depending on who encoded it.

A good encoder can take a commercial DVD and encode it to 1/10th the size of the orignal dvd, and still look good.

I'm sure you can imagine this is not an easy thing to do.