To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Connection Troubles

0wings0

Hello, i'm completely new with BitComet and i really would like to use it. There is probably some really easy way around this but i cannot connect to be able to aquire dowlnoads. I have turned off my firewall, and i am connected to a router as im on my laptop which is on a LAN but i can use other programs like Bearshare to download no problem.

Here is a screenshot

clipboard01bf5.jpg

any help greatly appreciated

I would like our support team to look at this, as you should be able to atleast browse the web with bit comets browser, so something is surely blocking your connection.

In the mean time, your gonna want to forward your listening port in your router, and setup a static IP address in windows.

Portforward.com has guides for doing this, complete with screenshots for most routers.

In the meantime, please tell use what firewalls are installed (even if turned off), and any other "security" programs.

Also some basic info on your internet connection would be helpful, as well as the make and model of your router.

Suspect

First, turning off your firewall is a really bad idea. It's like taking your front door off the hinges because you had some trouble with the lock. Don't be too surprised if you come back to find your stuff is missing (such as your identity), and that you have several uninvited visitors in your living room (adware, trojans, spyware).

Notwithstanding that, the common cause for what you're seeing is, in fact, a software firewall, blocking outgoing requests from BitComet. It's often the case that people have multiple software firewalls installed without realizing it. Several of the so-called "security suites" include firewalls without being terribly explicit about that.