To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Understanding Bit Comet

I have been using Bit Comet off and on for about two years now. In all that time i would see the terms seed, seeders, leech, leechers upload,download,peers, etc. Understanding most of the terms and not being fully aware of some of the terms and how they relate specifically to Bit Comet i was a happy camper because i was receiving free software.. I think it would behoove the creators of Bit comet to create a general summarization of the Bit Comet software as if all new downloaders of the software were downloading their first Bit Torrent. The reason i say this is after two years i just found out that i was a Leecher, not knowing that if i left my download running that would help other people downloading the same software that i just finished downloading. Technically, i dont fully understand that process but if it does no harm to my computer i personally dont have a problem with doing this, and i am sure that many other new commers would feel the same.

This suggestion isnt about helping people with a technical problem which the forums address but making sure that all who use this software know that by leaving your download running( and how that process works) all users benefit.I will give my suggestion on where this info should be placed. Definately not in the forums but right out front in the software itself. Titled. "" Understanding Bit Comet "". This is not a criticizim(sp?) of Bit Comet but just a suggestion that i think will in the long run be a benefit to Bit Comet and its users.

BitComet is a single instance of a bittorrent client -- much as Chevrolet is a single instance of automobiles. It's really not up to your Chevy or its manual, to tell you what an automobile is or how to drive one.