To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

"DHT not connected"

The first time I used BitComet, it worked, but only once. Since then I can't download any file and I get the message "DHT not connected". I have no antivirus or firewall, so this cannot be the problem. Please help me. I've read the other topics about this problem but I could't understand anything. I must make a small step at a time because i'm a beginner.

Try this link and check your "listening port" from BitComet's connection settings (not necessary but recommended - it checks whether you can be connected to from outside)

Check "Options" -> "Preferences" -> "Advanced" -> "Connection" -> "Enable DHT network".

Check if you have any connections to tracker(-s) at all and you can see peers in "Peers" list.

MAKE SURE BitComet isn't blocked by your firewall software (you are strongly advised to have both antivirus (this may be run manually when needed) and firewall (must always be working) - either WinXPSP2 or/and another one).

Make sure you aren't using private torrent, as DHT for it will be disabled anyways.

Well, try this; if this is of no help, I'll have to use my imagination more :)

That's not very important for your case but may be helpful anyways. If positive, it makes clear that BitComet isn't firewalled by anything. Check "Options" -> "Preferences" -> "Connection" -> Listen port and type it there. Aslo look through these guides, they're really helpful.

This Wikipedia article has some basics on ports, if you're interested (but that's not necessary to know).

• 2 months later...

i've tried the canyouseemee site and i keyed in my listen port, based on your instructions

turns out, the canyouseemee website can't see me

i do use a wireless linksys wrt54g router

but my housemate who bought and set up the router forgot the router admin and password