To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Kaspersky deleted BitComet saying it's AdWare

taseron

Hi, I've been using BitComet with Kaspersky AV for more that 2 years without any issues. Today when I run BitCommet, Kaspersky warned me about BitComet beeing an adware (AdWare.Win32.DealPly.eaazj) and removed it.

It also removed 8 copies of bit????.tmp.exe from Windows 7 Temp folder.

Anyone else experienced this recently?

Is it just me or is it a common thing?

yes i had same problem, just false positive, you should add bitcomet.exe in threats and exclusions

6v6nA6n.png

not only kaspersky some other antivirus programs treat it as virus, i think this happened after i installed 1.53 update, before that it was working fine, i tried older builds and they doesn't have this problem, 1.45 was fine

Edited by george2018 (see edit history)

Thanks for confirming the issue.

The strange thing is, I haven't been updating Bitcomet for months. It kept asking me if i want to update and i remember declining it due to being busy fetching urls at that time.

I wonder if it downloads a copy of the updated exe before asking me to run the update everytime. Since i have 8 copies of bitcomet exe file in win7 temp folder, i guess it does download it, then asks for installation.

Anyone to confirm that?

I just tried downloading Bitcomet setup  on a machine with Symantec av and it blocked the download.

Then i tried downloading another torrent client to see if its about a problem with torrent software. Other client didn't alert the av.

As you said, it's probably due to ads, or the way ad engine works.

I hope Bitcomet fixes that issue because it's impossible for people running av to understand if it's a false positive or a real infection. A known false positive exe can get infected too.

Edited by taseron (see edit history)

• 3 weeks later...