To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

help seeding???

sup all,

I have just recently created my account although i have been downloading for 3 years. My ? is how do i share the files i have downloaded. If i am downlading a torrent it shows to be uploading during the download, but when the task finishes its done. BTW I have already assigned my static address. I just don know how to share the files i have already downloaded. I have tonz!!!!!

Edited by iwuzyou (see edit history)

I had the same question a few weeks ago, and was told when I'm done downloading a task it will automatically start uploading. If you have the option to hash check when task is done downloading, it will do this first and then start uploading. In my experience, as long as your download is 100% and you have an orange up arrow, then you are now considered a seeder. I don't know what version of Bit Comet you have, I have version 1.27 and that's how seeding works with this version, it's probably pretty much the same with others. You can also take any of your downloads in your history, as long as it's 100%, and push the start button and you should see the orange arrow, meaning you are now seeding. That's about all I know, I hope this helps.

rpwicked pretty much nailed it.

Basically you should leave the tasks seeding until you reach a ratio you consider sufficient.

A minimum ration of 1.5 - 2.0 will mean that you gave back to others 150% - 200% of what you took.

There is an auto-stop condition in BitComet (on the Options-->Task page) which when enabled will stop a task from seeding when it reaches a combination of a certain share ratio, minimum seeding time and minimum seeds number present in the swarm. You can set those values to whatever seems fit for you, but the defaults should be considered the average minimums.