To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration ×
Comet Forums
To block spammers, this forum has suspended new user registration

Have been caught using torrents..how is it possible?

Klerker

Hi all, im sorry if this is a very noOb question but im a noOb at this..

A few days ago i downloaded a file from torrent box, yesterday i received a mail from my ISP saying that a 3rd identity had made a complaint to them about one of their IP (mine) downloading a file that specific day..a movie from torrentbox, the complaint came from NBC.

My ISP basicly told me if so, to remove them or they would suspend my account.

What i whant t know is how they knew? Spyware on my pc? torrentbox being monitored? trojan´s, how?

How can i protect myself from this?

thank u all from the time taken reading this,

cheers

Peer Guardian is good because it prevents blocked others from communicating with you. But that will not affect your ISP monitoring your connection. So it's not enough/doesn't address the problem.

Nothing will prevent monitoring. Encryption will prevent anyone from knowing what the traffic consists of. That's generally enough to make an ISP happy, since they resent being unpaid enforcers for MPAA in the first place.

Hi all, thanks for the replays, well iv installed Zone Alarm Pro and Peer Guardian 2.

But the thing is, NBC sent my ISP a letter..complaining about an IP (mine) that had downloaded a torrent from torrentbox, how can they have done that? i mean, know that? isnt my ISP the only one that can monitor my traffic? and btw, Bitcomet is always with the encryptation enabled so..how was this possible? how could they know?

Cheers to u all!

It might not be the best, but still, i wonder how the

Internet Anti-Piracy Team,

Worldwide Anti-Piracy Operations

could monitor my traffic?? from a site, that, suposly bitcomet could encrypt the data? right?

i dont understand how

cheers